DocumentationRecipesReferenceGraphQLChangelog
Log In

Labeling overview

In Kili app, labeling interfaces are composed of two parts:

  • Asset viewer (on the left side of the screen)
  • Jobs viewer (on the right side of the screen)

Depending on project asset type, your interface may contain optional items:

  • Input(s)
  • Object detection tools
  • Additional labeling tools (in the top-left corner)
  • Additional controls (like playback speed for video etc.)

For additional information, refer to:

Checking current annotation complexity using the annotation counter

When annotating an asset, you can check the current complexity of the annotation work using the counter located in the bottom-right corner of the Job viewer. This counter sums up all annotation tasks that have been completed so far and lists them broken down into categories.

How the tasks are calculated

For most asset types, the calculation is a simple addition of annotations added in all the jobs and sub-jobs. For example, for a bbox with several optional sub-jobs, the count increases once for the bbox and once for each or the sub-jobs that the labeler decides to fill out.

Calculations for some specific project types and job types require additional explanation:

  • For multiple-choice classification jobs, the annotation count increases by 1 per job/subjob, regardless of the number of classes selected.
  • For video assets, only key frames are counted as separate annotations. This means that when propagation is set to "on", annotation count does not increase unless you make a change in one of the frames. For example, in a 100-frame video, on frame #1 you annotate an object with propagation on: object gets propagated to all the 100 frames but the annotation count increases only by 1. Then, on frame #50, you move the object or make a change in the subscription sub-job: annotation count increases by 1 and the total is now 2.

Autosave

Your work made within the last 20 seconds is automatically saved.
The timestamp of the latest change is displayed in the bottom right corner of the labeling interface.

Last save: 2021-05-17 11:21:37

Also, the "Autosave" label appears next to the asset name in the project queue.

This means that your work was automatically saved but not yet submitted as a label. Open the asset to resume the work and then submit the label.

🚧

Be careful when clicking Skip

If you click Skip, the asset status changes to LABELED and the asset disappears from the "To do" list. Only admins and reviewers can add the asset back to the "To do" list. For details, refer to Asset lifecycle.